Meet The Artist

Hi, I'm Karen.

From a young age, I've been drawn to quiet places, the safety of solitude, interior thoughts. This may seem strange, because I'm actually a very outgoing person. My 1979 Kindergarten report card reads "Karen is very talkative and is making many friends. Sometimes she needs to know when it's time not to talk." I can make friends with almost anyone I meet.

But I'm most drawn to the idea of stillness, harmony, and cleanliness in my work. I work to create what could best be called a "quiet conversation."

My attraction to this idea has grown in recent years as I yearn for contentment in my life. I am not the person I was when younger. I am not the person I was a year ago. I was drawn to the excitement, the extreme, the adrenaline rush for quite some time. I'm 50 this year. I'm giving serious thought to setting down. Sometime soon.

I've been blessed with a life of joy, comfort, abundance, and the unconditional love of those around me. I draw from the well of those gifts to create and share beauty with others.

The reason I'm a photographer is simply because I love telling stories. I aim to capture and present images that embody the human experience. To me, photographs are not just a representation of life, they are the embodiment of life itself.

I started as a self-taught child portrait photographer in 2005. I'm humbled by the trust bestowed upon me by the 1000 + clients I've served in almost 20 years years.

My work has been featured in national publications and I've worked with top commercial agencies in Chicago, New York, and LA, including Ford Models, Ikon Models, and Neiman Marcus. Recently, I find myself ever more interested in exploring an unvarnished view people, human connection, and modern life through photodocumentary works.

Raised in Farmington Hills, MI, I've had the good fortune to travel, study, and work throughout the world, including New York, Paris, and Chicago. I venture out frequently and offer travel and destination work. Please visit my TRAVELS page for upcoming travel dates.

I have a B.A. in History from the University of Michigan and coursework at the Université Paris I Sorbonne. I currently live in Southeast Michigan with my husband, son (pictured above at age eight), and our dog, Pickle.

My home-based studio is in Southeast Michigan and I travel frequently. If what I create resonates with you, please be in touch. It would be my honor to share my work and create something beautiful for you.